I spoke the truth

I spoke the truth
In a tiny voice,
I spoke the truth
To be told i lied.

I hang my head
in utter shame,
For i spoke the truth,
And you turned away.

I shook my hands,
With a frustrated cry,
Trying to just be heard.
I spoke the truth,
I did not lie.

I was brave,
Though inside i feared,
I spoke the truth,
It was denied.

How can i believe
That i will be safe?
For all is how he said,
I spoke the truth,
No one heard.

Grown and wary,
Weak and weary.
Haunted by what
Cannot ever be undone.

I spoke the truth,
When will i be
Believed?

Leave a Reply

