Discipline and creativity

I am struggling to finish what i start. I keep finding new ideas….which is awesome. Then I have none that are getting finished because there is me working on new stuff. So i have been making myself work on all of my projects that are in progress. trying to build discipline and actually finish one. If i finish all of these then I will be a hugely published chick…lol.  I am afraid I am led by my creativity too often. I avoid the writing prompts so as not to add to the growing list of W.I.P.’s  but I still end up with a story idea now and then that smacks me. The newest one came from a discussion with another writer about how I hate to title my stories.  She sent me to a random generator for titles. (Thank you) However instead of helping me to title what I already have, It gave me a new avenue to explore. I ended up doing research (yes i have a scary search history….I am a writer. I must explore the random crap that pops into my head.) And writing the first hundred or so words on the story. The only thing I am sure on with that story so far is the Title…

so far my titles for my Wip’s are:

Journeys (A story about a lost individual fighting to survive…with amnesia and while injured)

Elizabeth ( A story about a noblewoman and her ancestors mostly told in journal  format)

Last Forever ( a love story about a young girl raising her siblings and struggling to find her way in life)

The Incubus and Ysobel ( a half demon hunting her father and finding herself along the way) * btw this is the new one.

Jhai’s Tale ( a drow assassin and a kobold thief form a unlikely partnership while trying to avoid the temple of Lloth and find her siblings.)

Beyond Focus ( a young girl of fae decent finds herself in the land of the fae and has to adjust to the change that happens in her)

Broken Wastelands ( a post apocalyptic steampunk tale of a girl and her mutant)

Builder’s University ( a scifi story about creatures that eat intellegence…and the university they hide in. And the student who is out to stop them)

 

And I will eventually do one more (at least) children’s story in the bedtime tales line. (that line are stories I told my daughter and she asked me to write them and publish…)

That story will be Bedtime tales: The princess lost

I have trouble titling my poetry as well, so often in my poetry volumes I list them only by the first line. What about you? Is it hard to title your stories or poems? And what is your inspirations?

2 thoughts on “Discipline and creativity

  1. If you only knew how hard it is for me to find a title LOL I have the new story titles but not the name of the trilogy/series or whatever LOL I have changed titles of stories many times. I too have many many stories I need to finish. They may never be finished though as I think children and YA are more my thing but we shall see in the future! Keep trucking and do not apologize for being led by your creativity..we are writers….artists…we ARE creativity and we will ALWAYS be that way. Let your creativity lead you wherever it goes…I made the mistake of letting it go and it has taken me a LONG time to get back to it (and now it wont shut off LOL) but I am glad that I have all this coming out of me because it makes me AND others happy. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on and commented:
    This is a wonderful post and true for most of us writers/artists. Constant bombardment of ideas, having issues finishing a lot of them, and finding titles are only SOME of the issues writers go through but this post by my sister sums things up perfectly!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

