Poetic license 

Recently I asked for advice on my poetry… And it got me thinking.  The advice was given that I need to add smilies and metaphors in my poetry,  because there is no poetry with out it.  Now mind you I added some images,  but some poems just do not work with either.  I feel like I am missing something by refusing to accept that all poetry must have either of the two options.  But,  then I start to question… Who is writing the poem?  

                Yes,  I employ both in my poems,  but not always.  Some poems are just emotions in written form.  If all poetry was just comparison then where is the original ideas?  Images do not have to be a comparison to be evocative.  Sometimes the more you compare the emotional state with something else,  the more you lose of the original idea.  

        Do not get me wrong… I am grateful for the opinions offered,  after all it made me look closer at what I was writing and add more imagery.  I however am not sure that I am willing to completely change my voice because it doesn’t fit another person’s idea of what poetry should be.  

          What do you expect when you read poems?  Which of the poetry styles /rules are a hard and fast thing for you?  Please do respond.  I would love to discuss this idea further. 

2 thoughts on “Poetic license 

  1. The reason I enjoy poetry is because the only rules it needs to follow are the writer’s own. Poetry needs emotion, yes, but similes and metaphors are not imperative. One can add variations by different expressions such as colours, nature and beauty. Also, paradoxes add a great effect. I feel that every poem must have a texture, something to touch and taste; and that this texture should remain consistent in a particular poem. You ought to make the reader feel. Hope this helps!

    Like

Leave a Reply

